I suggest a campaign about ...

Support YOUR NHS!!

My name is Frances Hunt. I am a nuring degree student in the Birmingham area and also work as a HCA in the hospital environment.

I have silently followed the journey of the NHS Bill, now the Health and Social Care Act from when it started in 2010 to the present day. I will continue to follow this story and do everything I can to minimise the effects of this damaging, in my opinion, Act both at a local and national level!

Although there is not much tangibly we can do to change the Act, there are a HUGE number of things we, as the general public, staff, relatives, family, friends, health professionals of the NHS can do to stand up, be heard and counted and have a voice loud enough to delay the privatisation to what we hold dearly as a nation!

The National Health Service (NHS) was set up initially by A Beven on the 5th July 1948 on the basis and long term ideal that healthcare should be free and accessible to ALL!! This is when the first healthcare professionals came together and united to fulfill this proposal and idea. With regards to funding it was proposed that the NHS would be funded entirely from taxation of the nation. This applied to all the people of the nation!

Below is a timeline of events,from when the NHS first started in 1948 to the present day...

In 1960 the first Kidney transplant took place in the UK in Edinburgh (involving identical twins)
In 1962 there is a call for hospitals, General Practice and Local Health Authorities to unite together instead of being split.
In 1967 The Salmon Report identified and set recommendations for the Nursing Profession
Also in 1967 The Abortion Act was introduced and passed on a free vote resulting in Law!
In 1968 the first successful heart transplant took place at an NHS hospital in London
In 1972 CT scans were introduced
In 1979 the first bone marrow transplant (to a child) was successful at Great Ormond Street